Kagyu Monlams

The Kagyu Monlams: Great accumulation of wishes for the happiness of all beings

The Kagyu Monlams is one of the most important events for Buddhist practitioners of the Karma Kagyu school. During an entire week, together, they recite wishing prayers for the happiness of all beings. Usually, it takes place each year in Bodh Gaya, India, the place where the Buddha Shakyamuni attained enlightenment, but because of the pandemic, the event has been transmitted online, internationally broadcasted from the Karmapa’s monastery in Rumtek. This allows people from all over the world to gather for several days and to recite prayers that emanate from the Buddhas’ and Bodhisattvas’ deep wisdom.

The strength of these aspirations is multiplied by the gathering of thousands of practitioners who unite their wishes for the well-being and spiritual development of all beings.

We aspire to peace and prosperity for all sentient beings. Above all, we aspire for enlightenment for all sentient beings. From a Buddhist perspective, this is the ultimate aim in life. It is a state of cessation of dukkha or confusion, and this is what we aspire to.

Thaye Dorje, His Holiness the 17th Gyalwa Karmapa

Since 1996, Thaye Dorje, His Holiness the 17th Gyalwa Karmapa has been leading prayers of aspiration, accompanied by other great lamas of the lineage. The beneficial effect of these prayers is intensified by the presence and aspiration of great Bodhisattvas.

Prayers of Aspiration

Prayers of aspiration recited during the Kagyu Monlams are a precious way to dissipate the confusion of the ordinary mind. When we practice with this wish, our aspirations are naturally directed towards the cessation of what is unfavorable and the cultivation of all that is beneficial.

That’s the best we can get, and may be, that’s all we need to get: The clearing away of confusion.

Thaye Dorje, His Holiness the 17th Gyalwa Karmapa

Among these prayers of aspiration, are the Five Royal Sutras among which is the “Aspiration Prayer of Samantabhadra”. The latter focuses on the highly altruistic wish of attaining enlightenment in order to lead all beings to that state.

About the Kagyu Monlams

Since 1996, the Kagyu Monlams has taken place in Bodh Gaya, in the presence of the greatest masters of the lineage, such as the Karmapa or Shamarpa. Practitioners face the Mahabodhi Temple, the very place where the historic Buddha meditated until he realized enlightenment.

In 2020, concerned with the practitioners’ health and well-being, Karmapa invited people to join the monks in Rumtek, India, online. This allowed thousands of practitioners in Asia as well as in the West, to continue to gather and recite these wishing prayers, despite the pandemic.

Like last year, practices will be transmitted live, online, from Rumtek. Kundreul Ling will participate in the Kagyu Monlams from December 8th to the 14th. We invite you to join us in person at the Karmapa’s temple in Le Bost or online.

Video live from the Kagyu Monlams 2017

Join the prayers of aspiration led by the Karmapa, in the presence of H.E. the 4th Djamgon Kongtrul, Migyur Drakpa Senge, and H.E. the 3rd Beru Khyentse Rinpoche and many great masters of the lineage as well as Mipham Rinpoche. Thousands of students, monks, nuns and other venerables gathered in Bodhgaya, in India, to take part in the recitations of wishes for the happiness of all beings.

Kagyu Meunlams

Kagyu Meunlams : une grande accumulation de souhaits pour le bonheur des êtres

Les Kagyu Meunlams constituent un évènement des plus importants pour les pratiquants bouddhistes de l’école karma kagyu. Pendant une semaine entière, ils récitent ensemble des prières de souhaits pour le bonheur des êtres. Habituellement, les Kagyu Meunlams ont lieu chaque année en Inde, à Bodhgaya, le lieu où le Bouddha Shakyamouni a atteint l’éveil. Mais exceptionnellement, en raison de la pandémie, c’est à Rumtek, depuis le monastère du Karmapa, qu’ils sont retransmis internationalement. Ils offrent la possibilité à des personnes du monde entier de se réunir, pendant plusieurs jours, pour réciter des prières émanant de la profonde sagesse des Bouddhas et bodhisattvas.

La force de ces aspirations est démultipliée par le rassemblement de milliers de pratiquants qui, ensemble, unissent leurs souhaits pour le bien-être et le développement spirituel de tous les êtres.

Nous aspirons à la paix et à la prospérité pour tous les êtres sensibles. Par-dessus tout, nous aspirons à l’illumination pour tous les êtres sensibles. D’un point de vue bouddhiste, c’est le but ultime de la vie. C’est un état de cessation de dukkha ou de la confusion, et c’est ce à quoi nous aspirons.

Thayé Dorjé, Sa Sainteté le XVIIe Gyalwa Karmapa

Depuis 1996, Thayé Dorjé, Sa Sainteté le XVIIe Gyalwa Karmapa, mène les prières d’aspiration, accompagné d’autres grands lamas de la lignée. L’effet bénéfique de ces prières se trouve considérablement intensifié par la présence et l’aspiration de grands bodhisattvas.

Les prières d’aspiration

Les prières d’aspiration récitées lors des Kagyu Meunlams sont des méthodes précieuses destinées à dissiper la confusion de l’esprit ordinaire. Lorsque l’on pratique avec ce souhait, nos aspirations seront naturellement dirigées vers la cessation de ce qui est défavorable et l’épanouissement de tout ce qui est bénéfique.

« Il s’agit de la meilleure chose que nous puissions obtenir et c’est peut-être la seule chose que nous devions acquérir : la dissipation de la confusion. »

Thayé Dorjé, Sa Sainteté le XVIIe Gyalwa Karmapa

Parmi ces prières d’aspiration, se trouvent les cinq soutras souverains dont la « Prière de souhaits de Samantabhadra ». Cette dernière se focalise sur le souhait éminemment altruiste d’atteindre l’éveil afin d’y conduire tous les êtres.

Contexte des Kagyu Meunlams

Depuis 1996, les Kagyu Meunlams se sont déroulés à Bodhgaya, en présence des plus grands maîtres de la lignée tels Karmapa ou Shamarpa. Les pratiquants font face au temple du Mahabodhi indiquant le lieu même où le Bouddha historique a médité jusqu’à réaliser l’éveil.

En 2020, préoccupé par la santé et le bien-être des pratiquants, Karmapa les a invités à se joindre via Internet aux récitations des moines de sa communauté de Rumtek, en Inde. Cela a permis à des milliers de pratiquants, en Asie tout comme en Occident, de continuer de se réunir autour de ces prières de souhaits et ce malgré la pandémie.

Cette année, comme l’année précédente, les pratiques seront retransmises en direct depuis Rumtek. La communauté de Kundreul Ling s’associera, une nouvelle fois, aux prières d’aspiration des Kagyu Meunlams du 8 au 14 décembre prochain et vous invite à y participer avec elle, sur place dans le temple du Karmapa au Bost ou en distanciel.

Vidéo en direct des Kagyu Meunlams 2017

Rejoignez les prières d’aspiration dirigées par Karmapa, en présence de S.E. le 4e Djamgon Kongtrul, Migyur Drakpa Senge, et S.E. le 3e Beru Khyentsé Rinpoché et de nombreux grands maîtres de la lignée ainsi que de Mipham Rinpoché. Des milliers d’étudiants, de moines, de nonnes et d’autres vénérables se sont réunis, à Bodhgaya, en Inde, pour suivre ces récitations de souhaits pour le bonheur de tous les êtres.